North-South Classic: Coaching list has featured some gems

Many great West Virginia high school football coaches have led the North and South in the annual classic.

Clay-Battelle's Ryan Wilson and Man's Harvey Arms have joined the list of head coaches in the WCHS-TV/FOX 11 North-South All-Star Football Classic.

Wilson will guide the 2016 edition of the North Bears while Arms heads up the South Cardinals.

Legendary Bridgeport coach Wayne Jamison was the first leader of the North when the game was brought back to life in 1976. He led the North to an 8-6 upset win over a South squad guided by the late John Chmara of Bluefield.

Chmara also had the distinction of coaching in the 1985 and leading the South to a win.

Former Grafton head coach Mike Skinner had the opportunity to head up the North team, not once, but twice in 1985 and 2006.

A total of 10 former head coaches of the game have taken their place in the West Virginia Coaches Association North-South All-Star Football Classic Hall of Fame.

Barboursville's Jim Thornburg, the winning head coach for the South in 1984, will become that 10th inductee this year.

*1976-Wayne Jamison, Bridgeport (since 1976)

1977-Buddy James, Parkersburg

*1978-Kenny Wright, Pennsboro

1979-Granville Zopp, Buckhannon-Upshur

1980-Roy Michael, North Marion

1981-Bob Kaminsky, Martinsburg

1982-Dave Cisar, Magnolia

1983-Mike Hayden, Parkersburg South

1984-Vin Bonfilli, Morgantown

1985-Mike Skinner, Grafton

1986-Bud Billiard, Brooke

1987-Gary McCutcheon, East Fairmont

1988-Denny Price, Musselman

*1989-Gary Barnette, South Harrison

1990-Frank Marino, Ripley

1991-Steve Safford, Point Pleasant

1992-Jim Hamric, Spencer

*1993-Mike Linsky, John Marshall

1994-Mike Lucas, Wirt County

1995-Ron White, Wheeling Park

1996-Marshall Burdette, Parkersburg

1997-Glen McNew, Morgantown

1998-Gerry White, North Marion

1999-John Kelly, University

2000-Alan Fiddler, Moorefield

2001-Danny Tennant, Parkersburg Catholic

2002-Dave Walker, Martinsburg

2003-Bruce Carey, Bridgeport

2004-John Stender, Tyler Consolidated

2005-Mick Lantz, Frankfort

2006-Mike Skinner, Grafton

2007-Bernie Buttrey, Parkersburg

2008-Jim Rogers, Cameron

2009-Jimmy Frashier, Ripley

2010-Mark Nardone, Wheeling Park

2011-Dick Sturm, Ravenswood

2012-Tony Filberto, Oak Glen

2013-Jodi Mote, St. Marys

2014-Bill Haddox, East Fairmont

2015-Mike Young, Wheeling Central

2016-Ryan Wilson, Clay-Battelle

South Cardinals Head Coaches (since 1976)

1976-John Chmara, Bluefield

*1977-Carl Ward, Ceredo-Kenova

*1978-Steve Edwards, Sr., George Washington

1979-Frank Vincent, Charleston

*1980-Leon McCoy, Winfield

1981-Claude Miller, Huntington

1982-Bob Zopp, Greenbrier East

1983-Tootie Carter, Man

*1984-Jim Thornburg, Barboursville

1985-John Chmara, Bluefield

1986-Homer Criddle, Greenbrier East

1987-Mickey Brown, Chapmanville

1988-Fred Taylor, Ravenswood

*1989-Roger Jefferson, Capital

1990-Joe Cowley, Herbert Hoover

1991-Ralph Hensley, East Bank

1992-Blaine Wilkerson, Duval

1993-Ron Sirk, Clay County

*1994-Larry McClintic, Meadow Bridge

1995-Dick Whitman, DuPont

1996-Ron Terry, Buffalo Wayne

1997-Jim Martin, Oak Hill

1998-Bill Dobbins, Nicholas County

1999-Robert Burdette, Nitro

2000-Don Jackson, James Monroe

2001-Frank Spangler, Fayetteville

2002-Bob Lemley, Poca

2003-Fred Simon, Bluefield

2004-Steve Edwards, Jr., George Washington

2005-Tommy Harmon, Wayne

2006-Chip McMillian, Cabell Midland

2007-Bob Mullett, Van

2008-Steve Stoffel, Sr., Herbert Hoover

2009-Benny Hopkins, Valley

2010-John H. Lilly, Woodrow Wilson

2011-Eddie Souk, Mt. Hope

2012-George Barker, Chapmanville

2013-Joe Dean, Midland Trail

2014-Lewis McClung, Greenbrier West

2015-Luke Salmons, Ravenswood

2016-Harvey Arms, Man

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off