Gov. Justice to add six women to recently established PEIA Task Force

West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice announced Friday he is adding six women to the PEIA Task Force. (WCHS/WVAH)

West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice announced Friday he is adding six women to the PEIA Task Force.

The task force that was established last week will now have 29 members. The new members will be announced on Monday.

“After hearing additional input today from the Legislature, I will be amending my Executive Order concerning the formation of the PEIA Task Force to increase the number of members from 23 to 29 and I will be adding six additional women to the group. Those appointments will be made on Monday," Justice said in a release.

School employees said concerns about premiums and benefits were one of the chief issues during the walkout. A 16-month freeze was approved for PEIA while a long-term fix is being sought. When the governor announced a deal negotiated with the unions representing school employees, the formation of a PEIA task force was part of the agreement.

In a news release from the governor’s office, Justice said his chief of staff, Mike Hall, will chair the task force and its first meeting is scheduled for 2 p.m. Tuesday, March 13, in the governor’s cabinet conference room at the state Capitol.

Following are the original members of the task force:

* Marty Becker, chairman of the board of directors, QBE Insurance Group

* Greg Burton, chief executive officer BrickStreet Insurance

* Andy Paterno, CEO of Centurion Insurance Services

* Joe Letnaunchyn, president and CEO of the West Virginia Hospital Association

* Rob Alsop, vice president for Strategic Initiatives, West Virginia University

* Nelson Spencer, McDowell County school superintendent

* Perry Bryant, executive director of West Virginians for Affordable Healthcare

* Sen. Mitch Carmichael, R-Jackson

* Sen. Robert Plymale, D-Cabell

* Sen. Craig Blair, R-Berkeley

* Del. Eric Nelson, R-Kanawha

* Del. Roger Hanshaw, R-Clay

* Del. Mick Bates, D-Raleigh

* Geoff Christian, a current member of the PEIA Board

* Christine Campbell, president of the American Federation of Teachers-West Virginia

* Dale Lee, president of the West Virginia Education Association

* James “Joe” White, executive director, West Virginia School Service Personnel Association

* Dr. Rahul Gupta, commissioner of Department of Health and Human Resources Bureau for Public Health and state health officer

* Douglas Kirk, Division of Highways

* Lt. Michael LaFauci, West Virginia State Police

* Jeffrey Reed, retired Wood County circuit court judge

* Judy Hale, retired public educator

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off