Freeze warning in effect Monday night through Tuesday morning in parts of region

The National Weather Service in Charleston issues a freeze warning from 10 p.m. Monday through 10 a.m. Tuesday for parts of West Virginia, Kentucky and Ohio. File photo shows frozen buds on a plant in Clendenin. (Burst/Phil Blackwell)

The National Weather Service has issued a freeze warning from 10 pm. Monday through 10 a.m. Tuesday for some counties in West Virginia, Kentucky and Ohio.

With temperatures expected to dip into the lower 30s, freezing temperatures could damage sensitive vegetation that is left outside unprotected. The weather service advised residents to take steps to protect tender plants from the cold.

Counties in West Virginia included under the warning are Kanawha, Putnam, Cabell, Wayne, Mason, Jackson, Wood, Pleasants, Tyler, Lincoln, Roane, Wirt, Calhoun, Ritchie, Doddridge, Mingo, Logan, Boone, Clay, Braxton, Gilmer, Lewis and Harrison.

Kentucky counties included are Greenup, Carter, Boyd and Lawrence. In Ohio, counties included are Athens, Jackson, Meigs, Gallia and Lawrence.

For the latest Eyewitness News Storm Team forecast, click here.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off