Eyewitness News' Kennie Bass selected as West Virginia Broadcasting Hall of Fame inductee

    The West Virginia Broadcasting Hall of Fame selects Eyewitness News Lead Investigative Reporter Kennie Bass as an inductee for the Hall of Fame. (WCHS/WVAH)

    Eyewitness News iTeam Lead Investigative Reporter Kennie Bass, who broke the story on the West Virginia Supreme Court’s lavish spending, has been selected as an inductee for the West Virginia Broadcasting Hall of Fame.

    Bass is among six radio and TV professionals who will be inducted Oct. 27 into the Hall of Fame at the Museum of Radio and Technology in Huntington, according to a news release from the organizers.

    Earlier this year, the veteran reporter won a top regional journalism award for “Waste Watch Exclusive Investigation: WV Supreme Court spending examined.” The story, edited by News Operations Manager Larry Clark, won a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award.

    Bass’ stories on the court put a spotlight on the Supreme Court justices. Since the initial story aired, one justice, Allen Loughry, was suspended from the bench and now faces 23 federal charges and allegations that he violated the Code of Judicial Conduct. He has pleaded not guilty to the charges.

    Meanwhile, Menis Ketchum resigned and retired as a justice, and federal prosecutors said Ketchum has agreed to plead guilty to one count of wire fraud.

    On Tuesday, the West Virginia House Judiciary Committee voted to recommend 14 articles of impeachment that include the four remaining justices on the court, Loughry, Margaret Workman, Robin Davis and Beth Walker.

    Bass has been in broadcasting since 1978. Before college, he did color and end-of-game football reports for radio. At Marshall University, he covered news for local AM/FM and school radio. In 1984, he segued into TV as anchor/reporter for MU and the following year, became an intern at the Huntington NBC-TV affiliate, which turned into a full-time position a year later. He became the station’s sports director in 1990. In 1997, he joined WCHS-TV as a news anchor/reporter who also provides sports and entertainment commentary.

    The other five people to be inducted into the Hall of Fame are:

    Frances Basile, who spent more than 30 years at WBOY in Clarksburg, first in radio news and then anchoring TV news.

    Lucille Gallion, an on-air celebrity and program director during a 35-year career at WLOG radio in Logan.

    Frank Kearns, a CBS correspondent who after retirement became one of 10 Benedum professors at West Virginia University.

    Dee Miller, a 50-year radio veteran who did stints at WJLS Radio, WKAZ, WCAW and V-100.

    Crockett J. “Tiny” Thompson Jr., a TV news veteran from Bluefield known for his work at WHIS-TV and WVVA-TV.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...